A warm slice of love and comfort…

I’ve been having a rather difficult and strange time since coming back from Belgium. Let’s call it a bumpy landing. And I have been quite open about how tough it has been to be back. A weird kind of tough which has thrown me off a little and has forced me to look, yet again at the sustainability of my work and put the spotlight on how to best take care of Didi. My friend wrote me this after I shared a realisation that part of the reason why I feel bad for taking a break is because I feel like taking a break is a temporary form of abandoning my dreams and vision for my life and the world.

This is what she had to say… It gave me so much strength and warmth. Both much needed on this cold winter’s evening.

“Dearest Didi,

I just saw your post about feeling like taking a break is giving up…I wanted to send you some words of encouragement, because I know you are doing such good work in the world. Don’t be discouraged if you need to step back and take a breath! In the little time I spent with you, I came to know a person with so many gifts and so much to share. Taking some time for yourself will benefit you and those you wish to help in the long run. They say that there are two kinds of people: those who shine a light, and those who reflect it to pass it on. You my dear are a pure source of original light, so by taking the time to tend to that light and make it strong, you are ensuring that it will reach the world tenfold, reflected by those around you!”  – Taylor Elverhoy Holland

 

Thank you Taylor! Even though you are so far away, you’re still able to deliver comfort to me.

I love you, thank you.

x

P.S: I wrote a piece today of some learnings I have gotten from this period of dark greyness, but I realised I have my tenses all wrong. Allow me to rectify it and post soon!

mother

Leave a Reply

