The beauty of travelling!

My lovely blog partner,swapper and newly found friend Liesbet Maroye from Belgium and I have been in regular contact and exchanging ideas and plans of where to go in each other’s countries. I have really been enjoying playing virtual tour agent and advisor!

I realised during our interactions that one of the most powerful things about travelling is that we become other versions of ourselves, we allow ourselves to morph and open up to things we may not necessarily open ourselves to in daily life.

At some point in our interaction today I sent my dear Liesbet a link to this post I wrote a long time ago while I was in Sweden and missing home. In my response to her question of what she should eat I strongly encouraged her to try alllll the things on this list.

After mailing her I went to the blog post and chuckled a little, only travelling can open you up to that extent and also allow me to be so bold as to suggest that she try EVERYTHING on my semi-outrageaous-for-a-foreigner-I-miss-home-foods-so-much post!

It was on the day I wrote that post that I made magwinya in the YIP kitchen and had all kinds of sticky hands and watering mouths taking and tasting and going mmmmm…. reminds me of my mom.

DSCF7820 DSCF7814

Travelling asks us to step out of routines and be wild, bold, brave, adventurous, open, happier, less calculating and rigid. I love that most about travelling.

I remember our last day in Bolivia (Quillacollo to be precise). My friend’s dad set this plate before me urging me to ” get all the meat I can get before I head back to our program in Sweden”  (which is fully vegetarian besides 2 or 3 surprising dinners and barbecues). I sighed, not knowing how to tackle the meal before me. I will explain what is on my over-flowing plate below. Rabbit, Pork, Chicken and Beef. There was no space for the lovely sweet potatoes on that plate nor the plantain, but out of politeness and the kind, quirky, advice, I tried. Needless to say I was stuffed beyond recognition but feeling fed with love!

IMG_1046

I’m looking forward to more interactions with you Liesbet and also meeting another version of myself on my travels and the time leading up to it…

x

@TheDidinessIMG_1146 IMG_0510 IMG_1026

Boiled Potatoes, Boiled corn on the cob, steamed green beans,

Boiled Potatoes, Boiled corn on the cob, steamed green beans,

Potatoes, Onions, Carrots, Eggs

Potatoes, Onions, Carrots, Eggs

Fried banana to add to our lunch dish

Fried banana to add to our lunch dish

IMG_5989

Sights from the market

Sights from the market

One thought on “The beauty of travelling!

  1. Pingback: Joepie & Vakantie | Liesbet à Paris

Leave a Reply

