I am WHO I am and not WHERE I am

This morning I went to bed feeling rather heavy and stressed about my various relationships with people.

I woke up feeling pretty much the same, yet feeling more certain about my own character and closer to accepting the unravelling or unfolding of the relationships that are a part of my life path.

For some reason I thought that coming to a different place would shift things inside me and affect me in some dramatic way.

But then the realisation which keeps re-surfacing at differing points in my life, popped up like a bouy in the ocean.

I AM WHO I AM AND NOT WHERE I AM.

My core values remain the same wherever I settle, they may change in priority but they remain the same.

I may approach people in different ways but my basic expectations remain the same.

**This seems a great time to explain this – EXPECTATIONS are the aspect of human existence that I am struggling and learning to deal with and more and more I am leaning towards believing that my life-long task is to work on this complex substance – I call it a substance because it is often times tangible. For instance when you go to school and throughout your shcool life constantly face the parents, at varying intervals, and you can feel the expectation from them to do wel,l or pass at the least! This is a basic example, you can insert your own examples from your own life here. I suspect there are many to conjure up.

I AM WHO I AM AND NOT WHERE I AM.

I am 24 years old and have had several experiences of which I come out of and learn that I need to be true to me and what I believe. I have only myself to answer to and I need to remember that and take care of myself and listen to that inner voice which guides me in all that I do and say.

I AM WHO I AM AND NOT WHERE I AM.

My internal compass is pretty strong, which only makes sense – how else can such a strong personality be steered and guided? To fight when necessary and take a flight when necessary. Navigating my way through these is not always easy but I can confidently say that I rest in the knowledge that all that happens is the only possible thing that could have happened.

A beautiful, comforting and yet also helpless feeling.

I AM WHO I AM AND NOT WHERE I AM.

It feels like I’m shedding some skin right now. Leaving behind doubts about myself, how to be and how to respond, which is a constant battle – sometimes harder than some and sometimes easier than anticipated.

As I pack for my time in Bolivia I remind myself that I have only myself to live with and to answer to. I come back to Didintle each evening, I go to bed with Didintle and when that day comes when my life on this earth comes to an end, I have only Didintle to pack up and move on with.

I need to trust in myself and my observations. They are what drive me.

I AM WHO I AM AND NOT WHERE I AM.

I am who I am and not where I am

One thought on “I am WHO I am and not WHERE I am

  1. Pingback: Where does my responsibility to act & do begin and end? | My Adventures & Learnings in Sweden On YIP

Leave a Reply

