“In distant travels you learn about yourself”

Today (as in yesterday – Tuesday) was a particularly difficult day for me. I simply could not get out of bed.

Which is no strange occurence. Each morning is a battle. I’m just wired that way.

Today was different. It was more than my body fighting with my mind.

No.

It was all of me wanting to stay in. 100% Consensus. Body, Mind, Soul.

At the time I didn’t even understand why, I just knew that I couldn’t face the day. I wasn’t okay.

I’ve tried to figure out what it is about this morning that just didn’t work.

Finding the culprits.

I’ve come to the conclusion that I am suffering from missing my best friend THE SUN.

We’ve never been separated this way, no, never before. The sun sets around 15:00. That’s madness. A mad reality. My reality.

And it’s only the beginning.

Coupled with that is the fact that I don’t have my sister (my confidant for life) nearby to console me and listen to me and talk to me about her experiences. I miss her so much. It’s insane. I’m convinced we used to hang out in our past lives or something. It’s an inexplicable bond.

My entire family for that matter. I miss them all.

To add insult to injury I don’t have my favourite foods to postpone the blues.

Forget chocolate, my cravings are deep.

(There’s a photo gallery of all that I crave to look through below)

Maotwana – Chicken feet, boiled or fried. So tasty.

Achaar – Imported to South Africa by migrant Indians, achaar is a salad made of mango and oil – comes spiced. Eaten in excess, it could trigger an offensive smell of the armpits. But I couldn’t care less about the smell right now. I want!

Boerewors – a traditional spicy South African sausage made of beef or lamb. Popular at braais (barbecues) where it is grilled over charcoal. Speaking of which I miss braaing and the smell of it and the delights that come with it. 

Chakalaka – A salad of Indian / Malay origin made of onion, garlic, ginger, green pepper, carrots and cauliflower spiced with chilies and curry. Goes well at a braai as a salad or side!

Mala – Intestines, especially those of chicken. They are thoroughly cleaned, cooked in boiling water, then fried. Best friend of Mogodu.

Mogodu – Tripe, thoroughly cleaned, then boiled for two to three hours. Once softened, allowed to simmer before being served with pap or any starch of your choice. Delicious either way!

Morogo – Wild spinach, the most popular being thepe; delicious when boiled, softened and served with pap or Ting

Ting – A dish favoured by the Tswanas in both South Africa and Botswana. It is a sour porridge made of sorghum. Can be transformed into a great soft porridge for breakfast. This reminds me of mom!

Skop – Head of a cow, sheep or goat. The head is first scrubbed with a sharp instrument like a razor to remove skin and unwanted parts like ears and the nose are then cut out. The head is then boiled and allowed to simmer.

Chotlo – A delicacy of the Tswana people, this is meat cut into extremely small pieces with the bones removed. The meat is first boiled, then ground before being put back into the pot and stirred until it becomes very fine. A treat for the toothless.

Masonja – Worms, similar to caterpillars in appearance. These live in and around mopani trees found inthe Lowveld areas of Mpumalanga and the Northern Province. Popular with the Shangaans, Vendas and Bapedi of the Northern Province, also known as Mopani worms
(As a child I used to think the idea was so disgusting and they looked pretty uninviting, until I tasted the buggers! Raw-dried or fried or boiled. tasty tasty tasty!)

I never cared much for Biltong before I left home, but now I will do next to anything to get my hands on some of that goodness! 

Biltong – Dried and salted raw meat similar to the beef jerky made in the USA. An old Afrikaner delicacy, biltong can be made of ostrich, beef, kudu or any other red meat.

Pap – Boiled corn meal, often served with a sauce, usually featuring tomato and onions (moro wa tamatie).

I salivated so hard while writing this. Wow. Ke mathata thusang tlhe! Ke galletse nama bathong ba modimo!!

If you would like to read more about indeginous South African food. Click here.

2 thoughts on ““In distant travels you learn about yourself”

  1. Aw… Hugs!
    I can totally relate with how much you must miss your sister! I miss mine too! She is the only one that I can really talk to and share everything with… Hugs!
    Awesome post! I’m not so much a food fanatic so when I was away from home I didn’t get the craving of anything… Its nice to see things from a different perspective!

  2. Pingback: The beauty of travelling! | My Adventures & Learnings in Sweden (and beyond). The diary of a South African YIPPIE!

Leave a Reply

