Inside my mind and heart

I had a whole list of things that I wanted to blog about, but then my plans were interrupted by a conversation I had with Matthew Pike , an ex YIPPIE and overall great guy.

Our conversation, as brief as it was, sparked something in me.

This is the quote that Matthew sent, to remind me of what we both know I needed being reminded of – “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

It re-awakened a sleeping giant.

It comes in this form:

 I often shy away from listening to the (above-mentioned) words and finding a comfortable spot in the world due to them. Particularly the part that says “Your playing small does not serve the world”.

I have a HUGE personality and presence and often feel apologetic for who I am and what I do. Which I know in the depths of myself is ridiculous but I can’t help but constantly ask myself this “When I am being myself fully, how do I do it in a way that does not sideline others and their growth and how do I make sure that I am not taking up too much space and therefore hamper the growth of others, by simply dismissing my being myself as being a huge presence and personality?”

Big question, that I suspect I will be tackling for some time to come.

8 thoughts on “Inside my mind and heart

    • Aaaw Thato! Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Always nice hearing what is on your mind. Yes, big question. Hoping the answer will seep in quietly 🙂

  1. Yvandi wrote – “My dear friend Didi, hard lessons, but just always be your wonderful self. Be 100% you. Be selfish sometimes, and know that you’re the only one who can paint your picture. Everyone has to sort this our for themselves.The light may be a scary place because it exposes you, but the choice between light and dark should be a no brainer for you ♥ “

  2. Carla Cool wrote – “WOW Didi!Don’t even know where to start.The questions you ask yourself are the same questions I have floating in my mind on a daily basis.I tend to let go at times and just be me and say whatever the fuck is on my mind, feels liberating just need to work on the not caring about the consequences part lol.Need to work on being assertative at all times and not hold back and find the art of me being that way and not be offensive but an inspiration for others to also shine their light!Absolutely love the pictures too, the statue is powerful and inspiring”

  3. Madineyah wrote – “Did you peep into my mind? The blog was thought provoking and inspiring, thank you. That is my fav poem and I too struggle with the message at times – I think the things that are most true and simple to us as humans we struggle to comprehend the most. May both our journeys to light be fruitful. All the best. x “

  4. Wow! I can’t believe I haven’t seen your blog until today!
    Love the above post! Its so thought provoking! It made me think and ask myself the very same questions…
    I was reminded of what one of my mentors once told me… “When you start to think of how others are going to take you and your personality, you stop being who you are.” You are not in touch with the amazingly great part of you that can only ever do good, instead you are focusing on being what you THINK is needed… there is no need for that, you will always be exactly what you need to be if you are being yourself.
    And there is never a question of taking up to much space and sidelining others and their growth… People all have their own journey to make, their own lessons to learn and it is entirely their responsibility and choice of how and when they do so. If they think that you are hampering them, they are not making their lives what they want and are instead using excuses to stay where they are.
    When you are being you completely, you are showing by your actions and words that it is the best possible way to live… actions speak louder than words and if others don’t “get” it straight away, they will when is their time.
    That’s what came to my mind as I asked those questions… maybe they’ll help you find your answers…
    Amazing post!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

